View Full Version : GOD DAMN IT! IMPORTANT MESSAGE!


The FIFA RTWC Webmaster
23-07-2001, 09:50:AM
NOW I AM REALLY ANGRY!

SOMEONE SENT ME AN E-MAIL WITH A VIRUS. LUCKILY I WAS SMARTER THAN TO OPEN IT AT HOME. I STRONGLY SUSPECT THAT SOMEONE FROM AROUND THIS FORUM MIGHT BE THE SENDER AS IT WAS SENT TO MY FIFA@FIFARTWC.CJB.NET ADDRESS.
THE THING IS THAT I WORK AT ONE OF SWEDENS LARGEST COMPANIES AND VIRUS SENDERS ARE TRACKED DOWN AND PROSECUTED. IF THE PERSON WHO SENT THE MAIL SEES THIS AND DOESN'T WAN'T TO BE PROSECUTED, HE CAN CONTACT ME SO THAT WE CAN SORT THINGS OUT.

King Kenny
23-07-2001, 11:19:AM
Was the subject line of the "Sealifecentre leaflet" and the virus a .doc file?

The FIFA RTWC Webmaster
23-07-2001, 11:39:AM
No the virus had a pretty stupid name like "ifyouopenthisyoureanimbecill.doc.com" or something like that. I also got another message in spanish I believe it was but I didn't check if there was a virus in that one.

Vishal
23-07-2001, 02:09:PM
This wont be tolerated. I think yer pretty liked here dude. I doubt it would be someone from the forum. Well anyways the culprit better be caught :)

The FIFA RTWC Webmaster
23-07-2001, 02:30:PM
Well, I am just trying to give this guy a chance not to be prosecuted and a chance to sort things out... Because the company I work for WILL prosecute him if they find him.

Help?
23-07-2001, 03:47:PM
I was getting many viruses to my e-mail too. And if anyone knows what are the programs, that can indentify the virus, before you open it?

Vishal
23-07-2001, 04:51:PM
Norton Antivirus has an option to check all emails for viruses. Turn it on. Also in Outlook Express check the Security options and turn on whatever you want.

Donarson
23-07-2001, 10:44:PM
With the way that these virus' have been working lately, i'd say that it was sent to you unintentionly.
Someone probably has you listed in their "address book" and there is a security flaw in it, the person likely had the virus which sent ITSELF to everyone in said address book.

Alenitchev
23-07-2001, 11:55:PM
That is the new SirCam virus. It wasn't sent on purpose from anyone in the forum, I'm 99% sure.

More info on http://www.sarc.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.sircam.worm@mm.html

remember...
"knowledge, attention and caution are the best Virus Protection tools"

pedroramone
24-07-2001, 01:14:AM
Good thing that you didn't open it...
It's the second time that this happens in SG forum...

The FIFA RTWC Webmaster
24-07-2001, 09:27:AM
Might be true, but it is under investigation.
The subject of the message wasn't the same as what it was known to be... But now I know that the other mail I got was the spanish version of the Sircam virus!

stevesutton
24-07-2001, 12:02:PM
yes i have had 5 emails like this in spanish german engliah and it always says this

From :
€ <"€  "@prodigy.net.mx>

To :
Skysports2001@hotmail.com

Subject :
ken neo

Date :
Tue, 24 Jul 2001 12:04:48 +0800

Attachment : kenneo.doc.bat (214k)


Hi! How are you?

I send you this file in order to have your advice

See you later. Thanks


anyone else get this delte it but damn hotmail virus scanning dsont work on it

The FIFA RTWC Webmaster
24-07-2001, 12:14:PM
Yeah, that's the one.

But the subject line seems to change...

Help?
24-07-2001, 04:42:PM
Originally posted by FifaEngland-Steve:
<STRONG>yes i have had 5 emails like this in spanish german engliah and it always says this

From :
€ &lt;"€  "@prodigy.net.mx&gt;

To :
Skysports2001@hotmail.com

Subject :
ken neo

Date :
Tue, 24 Jul 2001 12:04:48 +0800

Attachment : kenneo.doc.bat (214k)


Hi! How are you?

I send you this file in order to have your advice

See you later. Thanks


anyone else get this delte it but damn hotmail virus scanning dsont work on it</STRONG>
I got a letter today from my outlook express and they told me about that virus too, but i haven't recieved it yet(hope forever). Thanx
Vishal, i will download the programm.

Stevie B
24-07-2001, 05:10:PM
Yeah, this virus is a little gem. It does not rely on other programs to spread itself, using any e-mail system available. It changes its title and the content is randomly plucked from the hard drive of the PC sending out the message. Some more details on:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/hi/english/sci/tech/newsid_1454000/1454155.stm

Some people obviously don't get out much, if they've got time to create these viruses (viri? only did two years of Latin, look what it did for the Romans. What have the Romans ever done for us?)
:D :D

FIFA RTWC Graphics Editor
24-07-2001, 05:22:PM
Hi,

If the mail that sent the virus was € &lt;"€  "@prodigy.net.mx, well let me just tell you that the mail was sent from a person residing in Mexico. The host prodigy.net.mx is from the phone company here in Mexico, Telmex (Telefonos de Mexico). So Nike, now it should be easier for you to track down the email owner. Or the location where it was sent from. I hope this info was useful. I hope you catch the guy.

P.S. Nike, I'm sorry I desapeared from the scene lately, but now I'm out on REAL vacation, so I'm back on the job.... I'll see you later with more files...

hiryuu.com
24-07-2001, 05:51:PM
That virus is everywhere, I receive it between 20 and 30 times at day, some of the e-mails are from friends (poor they :P) and some are from I don't know who, I receive it in spanish and english, but the worse thing it's that sometimes some of the e-mail address do not exist, even they domain does not exist...
just don't open anything suspicios, even if is from a friend (like mine that got contaminated).

Jono82
25-07-2001, 08:06:AM
Hard luck about the virus...

i got it too... :mad:

The way i check for viruses is 99% of the time viruses are written in visualbasic script (.vbs)... if you receive a file like:

anna-kournikova-nude.jpg.vbs ...

it is a virus... AND A REALLY CRAP ATTEMPT TO COVER IT UP!!! :D

Alenitchev
26-07-2001, 11:53:PM
That anna-kournikova-nude.jpg.vbs is old as hell... the SirCam virus is new, and pretty annyoing... in the last two days I got about 6 mb of virus-infected files. Fortunately my account has webmail access option, or else it would be a pain to delete all viruses...

The FIFA RTWC Webmaster
27-07-2001, 04:23:PM
Yeah, it is indeed annoying! I don't know how many times I have received this virus now... I get it all the time!

Stevie B
27-07-2001, 05:58:PM
The problem is that there are people out there who are not sensible enough to be allowed to use e-mail (some of them work with me!).

It only takes one person to open the infected e-mail for it to be posted to everybody that person may have sent an e-mail to or received one from.

A good anti-virus package should scan your e-mails as you download them and find these little bombs, but only if the company post updates very quickly, and the user makes that website their first port of call when logging on.

We're still getting "Homepage" flying around our system, because parts of our global company do not keep their virus checker up to date! :mad: :mad:

::shinji::
11-09-2001, 01:15:AM
Happened to me before too, damn bastards