View Full Version : AAAAAAARRRRRGGHH!!! MUST READ!!


johnnyboyuk
04-08-2001, 12:22:PM
i would like to take this opportunity to tell you all that my computer has just been wiped, it must have been a virus!!!! #
I would like to say that anybody who creates a virus is a stupid ****ehole!!!
They are about as bad as hitler!
I had some irreplaceable things on my computer such as important un-backed up software and very important school work!
I don't know whether this had anything to do with it but i downloaded the ultimate scottish patch from mra, i then clicked on the usp.exe to install it however it crashed my computer and when i restarted it could not load windows, i reinstalled windows from my cd and it has wiped my entire hard drive, as i said i dont know whether it was just a coincidence or whether it is related but with all these viruses flying around i may by some strange method have been infected by it by just visiting a website although i had only been on fifa2001.com and fifa-mra.com since i had turned on my computer that day.

All this means i have had around 3500 kits(downloaded or created by me-unavailable on the internet ) some 400 faces erased, and basically every program or anything i have downloaded in the past 5 months!!!!!!!
I was in the process of making version 2 of my fds 2001 patch and i was due to release today!! Now i have none of the patch and it will not be able to be rleased ever!

It was going to be amazing, i had updated all squads in the first division and every other league in the world, i had created good badges for all first divison teams, about 20 new or improved kits for the 2001/02 season and adboards and faces!!

I would also like to announce my retirement from making kits and such for fifs 2001 as i cannot be botherd to download allthe tools to make kits. I will definitely be back to modify and create files for fifa 2002.

If anybody has experienced a computer wipeout i would like to hear from you my e=mail is johnny_y2k_uk@yahoo.com :mad:

johnnyboyuk
04-08-2001, 12:54:PM
i have determined the source of the virus, it was sent with a psg stadium and this is the strange thing. It read "Hi! How are you?

I send you this file in order to have your advice

See you later. Thanks"

It was from cedric.seren@supaero.fr

i was completely unaware that it could be a virus becasue it contained a stadium so i believed it to be innocent.....It infected my computer with the virus
W32.Sircam.Worm@mm

iceboy
04-08-2001, 01:07:PM
The sircam virus is indeed flooding my hotmail at the moment. The attachment was about 200k+, now increased to 500k+ so all take note. I had it in both spanish and english. The most recent subject i had is "pepsi".

Sorry to hear about that John, but the person who got the virus will automatically send to others in his contact list. It's not his fault. I guess your friends might get the virus from you soon, so warn them.

To get rid of the virus, go to www.norton.com (http://www.norton.com) which has a free sircam virus remover without foramtting your pc. Cya.

J@MES
04-08-2001, 01:24:PM
i have been recieving these emails that say "hello iam senting you this in order to have your advice"

i try and respond to any of these emails and it says there is no user with that email address ???? strange and it also says that the attachment is a .doc file

johnnyboyuk
04-08-2001, 01:30:PM
i just wish somebody would have told me before it happened to me, cos i had just finished my fds2001 version 2!
I now warn everyone do not download an attachment with an email containing the text

Hi! How are you?

I send you this file in order to have your advice

See you later. Thanks

or anything sounding similar to it!!!!!!!!!!!!
:mad:

J@MES
04-08-2001, 01:31:PM
is that the one you got then

J@MES
04-08-2001, 01:39:PM
sounds like the same thing i got i downloaded one once and i went to open it and then it said that the file couldn't be located ?????

schmeichel01
04-08-2001, 02:35:PM
so sorry.

Everyone check your mail with outlook.

I have made a rule that if I recieve any mail with the words from the virus in english or spanish I will be deleted from server and block the sender.

sportgaming
04-08-2001, 03:11:PM
Hi I also recieved this e-mail but luckily before opening the file I virus scanned it. I too have tried to reply to the sender to warn and inform him but the address was not found even though it was from the same domain as me ntlworld.com. I have recieved it twice but with different subjects.
Player faces and stadiums. So if anyone gets e-mails that say "Hi there, I send you this in order to have your advice" then don't open the attachment.

Jambo Den
04-08-2001, 03:19:PM
my dad runs a website and he knew about the virus around a fortnight ago.

word of advice: DON'T OPEN ANY ATTCHMENTS UNLESS IT'S SOMEONE YOU TRUST OR A BIG WEBSITE

Joe
04-08-2001, 03:51:PM
Yup, LOL. You've only gotten two of those? My email box in the past two weeks has gotten at least 300. Luckily, I was aware of it before I opened anything up. And if you look at the attatchments, they are in some weird format anyway.

Nik
04-08-2001, 04:07:PM
I received this letters too. My SG e-mail was flooded and when i made the rules which delete this letters from server they still keep on coming so i had to turn off my adress.
Hey Rob maybe i did something wrong in the rules, maybe u can tell me? I checked 3 times and OE still downloads those letters with virus.
I was clever enough not to open an attachement called something like "veryverygoodstuff.doc.bat" So everyone look at the name of the file u open, it can save your li...computer.

Good luck.

J@MES
04-08-2001, 05:27:PM
robert the sender is always from a different address so you cant block it unfortunatly

i know this cause if you relie there is no user with that email

J@MES
04-08-2001, 05:34:PM
what they do is they make up a new email address then send it to you and then delete that email account so you cant replie

Number9
04-08-2001, 05:37:PM
I have been getting the e-mail virus via my hotmail accoutn for the last 2-3 weeks. I get it in a viriaty of languages including Japanese, French, Spanish and English.
I only ever get it to one address though "nath@soccered.com" - i think thats the wierdest part !

Cheers
Nath

schmeichel01
04-08-2001, 10:45:PM
The sircam virus if it inffects you is sends random files from your my documents folder to anyone that is in your address book or in your inbox.

My ISP gives me 100mb

J@MES
04-08-2001, 10:51:PM
how do you know that it sends it to people in your address book and in box

Joe
04-08-2001, 11:10:PM
Because it was on the news. I heard it while I was in England too. Id you open it up, I believe, it sends itself to everyone on your email. I never opened one up. The people who reply to aren't the culprits, they are just a victim ahead of you on the line (Line: Virus Creator - Person 1 - Person 2......Person 57 - You)

Yea, I have received the exact same wording "Hello, how are you? I send you this file to have your advice" in about 7 other languages (eg. Hola, Como Estas?....)

J@MES
04-08-2001, 11:12:PM
so how come you cant replie to them then

Joe
05-08-2001, 03:23:AM
Haven't got a clue, maybe it's coded in there. Cause I've got emails from people I know, but I tell them they have it and it doesn't go through.

Mishkin
05-08-2001, 04:14:AM
I keep getting that e-mail too! I never open the attachment though unless it is from someone I know. I also get e-mails that say "No Subject" with an attachment in it, and sometimes ones that say "Snow White and the seven dwarves - The real story!!!" and they too have an attachment.
:mad: :mad: :mad:

Alenitchev
05-08-2001, 06:48:AM
400 kb? Lucky you... my account at my ISP, 5mb, was already flooded about three times (the number of warnings I got) with 3 and sometimes 4 Mb Viruses. Most of them are zips with FIFA related files (FEd Beta 1.8, wc2002.zip, etc)...

As far as I know, the virus will send the biggest files in your C:\my documents folder, and send them to any mailto: adress in your browser cache. a real pain in the a**, IMHO.