Official Deportivo La Coruña 2008/2009: Liga Thread

Full name: Real Club Deportivode La Coruña, S.A.D.

Nickname(s): Depor, Super Depor,Herculinos, Blanquiazules, Sala Calvet, Turkos

Founded: 1906

Ground: Estadio Municipal de Riazor / (Capacity: 34,600)

Chairman: Augusto César Cerdoiro

Head Coach: Miguel Ángel Lotina

League: La Liga


The very beginning

In 1902 José María Abalo, a Coruña local who returned to his hometown after studying in England, introduced football to A Coruña. It started when he introduced the game to his group of friends who practiced it in the Bullring; little did they know this sport would turn into a phenomenon.

In 1904 Abalo and his group of friends formed a football team called Coruna the game reached to a new popularity as members of a prestigious gymnasium called Sala Calvet took notice and began to practice this new sport considered "exotic" by the young people of the city. This was the start of football's passage of time in Coruña.

The start of Deportivo

In December 1906 these young men of Sala Calvet gymnasium created their own team called Club Deportivo de la Sala Calvet, that with time would become the Deportivo de Coruña. In about two and half years the club would be given the mark of royalty by King Alfonso XIII and be called Real Club Deportivo de La Coruña. At this time things were looking up as Deportivo would move into a new stadium called the Riazor (now called the Viejo Riazor).

Deportivo turns professional

Deportivo would continue to play in various leagues in Galicia and outside for two decades until 1928, when the Spanish league was formed. Deportivo would fail to achieve qualification for the "Primera División" and so would begin playing in the Segunda División. Deportivo remained in the Segunda División, their greatest achievement eliminating Real Madrid from the Copa Del Rey till finally achieving promotion to the Primera División in 1928.

During a century, Coruña has lived through moments of sadness and joy, ups and downs, hope and disillusionment. Through uncertain periods immersed in strong debts and forgotten; through resounding defeats and epic triumphs, till the greatest moment in Real Club Deportivo de La Coruña's history- the first League title of its history to obtained in the season of 1999-2000- through the Champions League nights at Riazor.

Colours and Badge

The official badge depicts a knights belt encircling the original banner of Sala Calvet gymnaisum. The crown in the centre represents the clubs Royal decree and the diagonal blue stripe its identity as a Galician club.

Deportivo la Coruña have always played in their famous blue and white stripes, but it was not until 1912 that the club made these colours official for matches. Deportivo continue to wear blue and white striped shirts with blue shorts and socks, yet their second and third kits change annually according to comerical interests.

National titles

La Liga: Winners (1): 1999-2000

Runners-up (5): 1949-50, 1993-94, 1994-95, 2000-01, 2001-02

Copa del Rey: Winners (2): 1995, 2002

Supercopa de España: Winners (3): 1995, 2000, 2002


Current squad Blue = New Signings / Black = VIP (Very Important Player)

1 GK Dudu Aouate
2 DF Manuel Pablo (captain)
3 DF Filipe
4 DF Alberto Lopo
5 DF Fabricio Coloccini (vice-captain)
6 MF Julian de Guzmán
7 FW Rodolfo Bodipo
8 MF Sergio (vice-captain)
9 FW Sebastián Taborda
10 MF Joan Verdú
11 FW Riki
13 GK Gustavo Munúa
14 MF Christian Wilhelmsson
15 FW Rubén Castro
16 MF Antonio Tomás
17 MF Ángel Lafita
18 MF Andrés Guardado
19 DF Antonio Barragán
20 FW Cristian
21 MF Juan Carlos Valerón (vice-captain)
22 MF Juan Rodríguez
23 FW Xisco
24 DF Pablo Amo
- FW Omar Bravo
- FW Mista


Seasons on Primera División: 37

Seasons on Segunda División: 37

Seasons on Segunda División B: 1

Seasons on Tercera División: 1

Participations on UEFA Champions League: 5

Participations on UEFA Cup: 4

Participations on UEFA Cup Winners' Cup: 1

Participations on Intertoto Cup: 1


Stadium Information

Name - Riazor Stadium

City - A Coruña

Capacity - 34,600

Inauguration - 1944

Pitch size - 105 x 68 m

Other Facilities: - Ciudad Deportiva Abegondo